

ARKANSAS JAZZ HERITAGE FOUNDATION / ARKANSAS JAZZ HALL OF FAME

https://www.arjazz.org / info@arjazz.org
P. O. Box 251187, Little Rock, AR 72225-1187
Annual Dues \$20 (1 July - 30 June)

With Articles of Incorporation issued by the State of Arkansas on 7 January 1992, the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation (which sponsors and maintains the Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame established in 1994) is an all-volunteer nonprofit dedicated to educating the general public about the historical significance of jazz in Arkansas. Foundation membership is open to any adult (21+) interested in preserving, celebrating, and promoting jazz in The Natural State. Scanned copies of the membership application and organizational profile for the Foundation, as well as a reference sheet and nomination form for the Hall of Fame, can be found in the "AJHF: Reference Materials" album under "Photos" on the Foundation's public Facebook page (https://www.facebook.com/Arkansas-Jazz-Heritage-Foundation-115070468552197/ (linked via top tab on each page of the 1992-2014 archival website shown above). All questions and/or requests for materials should be directed to AJHF Secretary James Thomson (501.661.1604, arjazzman@sbcglobal.net).

WHAT: 2022 Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony with Jazz Celebration (Sponsored and Presented by the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation)

This unique and historic event (open to the public) will be held to honor new inductees into the Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame: TeRoy Betton, Jr., Irene Crutchfield Brown, Bill Craig, Jackie Lamar, and Ken Walker. The jazz celebration immediately after the inductions will feature performances by special guests (some of whom have been or will be inducted into the Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame) with a combo including 2014 Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductee Joe Vick (upright bass), 2018 Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductee Brian Brown (drums), and Clyde Pound 2020 Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductee (keys).

WHO: Inductees, Other Distinguished Jazz Artists, Public Audience (Adults Only)

WHEN: Monday, 20 June 2022 (8-10 p.m., doors open 7 p.m.)

WHERE: In the 1885 House of Representatives Chamber, The Old State House Museum (<u>oldstatehouse.com</u>), 300 West Markham Street, Little Rock, AR 72201.

The Old State House Museum is the host site for the event. The building will be open at 7 p.m. for viewing of all exhibits throughout the evening. There will be refreshments, snacks, and table seating for approximately 100 people during the event. There will be no food service so enjoy the many dining opportunities near the venue in Little Rock and North Little Rock before attending the ceremony.

COST: The admission fee for the ceremony and celebration is \$40 (cash or check payable to AJHF). General admission at the door or advance reserved table seating via mail posted by 13 June 2022 sent to the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation, P.O. Box 251187, Little Rock, AR 72225-1187.

The fee is \$20 for any current/former/new Foundation member who submits 2022-2023 dues (\$20 payable 1 July 2022) by 13 June 2022. Separate checks should be written for admission and dues payable to AJHF and mailed to P.O. Box 251187, Little Rock, Arkansas, 72225-1187. All event proceeds are used to help defray expenses associated with the Arkansas Jazz Hall of Fame inductions (held in even-numbered years) and ongoing educational activities of the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation.

More details are provided via "Events" Facebook invitation on the Arkansas Jazz Heritage Foundation's Facebook page.